At Ewell Castle School, we have a dedicated team of staff and governors committed to achieving the best for your child. The Governors have a key role to play in the management of Ewell Castle School, by ensuring that the staff and Heads provide a rounded and comprehensive education for all pupils.

With a diverse range of professional and life experience, the Governors offer a solid backdrop to the educational provision at Ewell Castle. In challenging the School’s ideas and decisions they provide vital strategic leadership and accountability, which ensures that both our financial and educational performance remain focused.

The board of Governors is central to ensuring that key decisions about the life and running of the School are in line with its overarching vision to inspire our children and young people to thrive, engaging them to excel in a creative and academic environment.  


  • Mr C Griffith (Chair)
  • Mr A Shawyer BSc, PGCE (Vice Chair)
  • Mrs J Moran MA, HDipEd 
  • Mr A Evans MRTPI
  • Mrs P Hutchinson BEd, NPQH (Safeguarding)
  • Mr A Macfarlane BEd
  • Ms L Scott ACMA, CGMA
  • Mr S Sullivan BA

Please see below for the Governors profiles:

Mr Colin GriffithMr Colin Griffith - Chair

Areas of responsibility: Chairman, Single Central Record, Tier 4, Finance, Strategic Planning

Initially responsible for trading and marketing of precious and base metals for Credit Suisse and Standard Bank before relocating to Dubai.  Chairman of Dubai Gold and Commodities Exchange and, returning to the UK, acted as a consultant internationally.  Honorary member of the London Metal Exchange and currently a member of their Oversight Committee.  President of Kingswood Golf and Country Club.  Former pupil of Ewell Castle School and a current committee member of the Old Ewellians Association.

I have been lucky enough to lead an enjoyable and varied life, working alongside inspirational people and in addition my work has enabled me to have travelled extensively. I look back fondly at my time spent at Ewell Castle which primarily installed in me a "can do" and "never give up" approach to life which has served me extremely well.



        Mr Antony Shawyer  - Vice Chair  

         Areas of responsibility: Education, SEND, More Able Prep and Senior School

        Head of Maths at a local prep school.  Previous roles include Head of Falcons Prep School and Deputy Head at Wetherby Pre Prep and Prospect House.


Mrs Jennifer Moran 

Areas of responsibility: Education

ISI (Independent Schools Inspectorate) Inspector and retired teacher.  Previously, Head of Year 6 at St George's Junior School Weybridge; Assistant Headmistress - Surbiton High School; Headmistress - Parson's Mead School, Ashtead; Head of History, Head of Performance Management and Member of The Academic Commitee - Danes Hill Preparatory School, Oxshott; Head of History - Rowan Preparatory School, Claygate; Senior Insurance Broker, Reed Stenhouse Ltd; Senior Underwriter, Guardian Insurance Company of Canada.

I agreed to become a Governor at Ewell Castle School because I very much value the aims and ethos of the school. I believe that my breadth of experience in education; as a Headmistress, an ISI Inspector and a teacher, enables me to make a positive contribution to the school and to its future development. I have devoted my career to raising standards in education and I am passionate about seeing that every pupil has the best educational experience possible.


Mr Nigel Bird

Areas of responsibility: General

Managing Director of an antique and modern jewellery and silverware company (Searle & Co Ltd - a family business) in the City of London.  Freeman of the City of London and Liveryman of the Worshipful Company of Fan Makers, member of St Mary's Church Ewell and involved with the Scouting Association.  Founder member of Ewell St Mary's Morris Men.  Former pupil of Ewell Castle School.


Mr Anthony Evans

Areas of responsibility: Planning and Building Works

Retired from Epsom and Ewell Borough Council as Design and Conservation Officer.  Chair of Malden & Coombe's Conservation Area Advisory Committee and Chair of The Kingston Society.  Parent of a former pupil.


Mrs Pamela Hutchinson

Area of responsibility: Safeguarding

Mrs Hutchinson joined the Governing Body in January 2021.  She is a very experienced teacher and senior leader who has worked in a number of local independent schools, as well as serving as a Chair of Governors at the Reigate Priory School for many years.  With a wealth of educational leadership experience, as well as being trained to Level 3 Safeguarding, Mrs Hutchinson brings a great deal of wisdom to the Governor Safeguarding role. 


Mr Andrew Macfarlane

Areas of responsibility: Education, Health & Safety, Mental Health & Wellbeing

I had a great time at Ewell Castle between 1969 and 1976; I managed to gain enough A-levels to get into teacher training college in Winchester. The friendships I made have lasted and I regularly see mates I met over 50 years ago! I was lucky to be taught by a mathematics teacher who was brilliant. I had so much respect for him, his behaviour management and ability to inspire were his strengths and the mathematics results were outstanding. I went on to teach in Special Schools for 35 years and on my retirement, I vowed to put something back.  Once I had met the Chair and Vice Chair of Governors and the Principal, I was on board. They have a vision and demonstrate values that I agree with. I look forward to contributing to the life of the School in my role as a Governor.


Ms Lisa Scott

Areas of responsibility:  Finance and Compliance

A Chartered Management Accountant with more than thirty years' finance experience within Central Government Departments. Lisa is Head of Governance at the Government Internal Audit Agency.  Lisa lives locally to Ewell and volunteered to support the School as a Governor following community work involving Ewell Castle pupils. She was very impressed with their levels of maturity and believes that the school is a centre of excellence for providing all-round development for children, as well as focussing on academic results.  


Mr  Sean Sullivan

Areas of responsibility: Legal

Ewell Castle School pupil (1992-1999) and Head Boy. Studied Law at St Edmund Hall, Oxford University  1999-2002.  Barrister practising from 9 Bedford Row, London from 2004 onwards.  Former Epsom & Ewell Borough Councillor. 


Registered office of proprietor (Governing Body): Ewell Castle School, Church Street, Ewell, Surrey, KT17 2AW

Telephone: 020 8393 1413

To write to the Chair of Governors please email